E. Roger Washburn Lectureship

His friends and family in memory of his 40 years of service on the faculty of this Department of Chemistry established the E. Roger Washburn Lectureship. Professor Washburn received his B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Michigan, and upon graduation in 1926 came to the University of Nebraska as an instructor in chemistry. He rose through the ranks to professor, served as Chairman of the Chemistry Department from 1955 to 1964, and taught until his death in 1967. During this period he directed 51 M.S. and 18 Ph.D. researchers, and published over 50 scientific papers.

Dr. Washburn gained international recognition in the areas of solution and surface chemistry and made significant contributions to techniques for measuring spreading pressures with Langmuir balances. He was, first and foremost, a careful, critical experimentalist, and a dedicated, sympathetic teacher, who took great delight in doing both things well.

It is appropriate that these lectures, by their topics, reflect Professor Washburn's interest and curiosity about the nature of molecular interactions and the many manifestations of behavior, which give each molecule its own chemical personality.

Past Recipients
  • 2010 - Bruce J. Berne
  • 2007 - Charles M. Lieber
  • 2005 - Donald G. Truhlar
  • 1999 - David Chandler
  • 1995 - Hans W. Spiess
  • 1993 - Y.R. Shen
  • 1988 - Harold A. Scheraga
  • 1986 - Benjamin Widom
  • 1986 - Frank Stillinger
  • 1981 - George C. Pimentel
  • 1978 - Henry Eyring
  • 1977 - Stuart A. Rice
  • 1975 - Harold L. Friedman