Gustavson Lectureship

Reuben G. Gustavson was an eminent scientist, scholar, educator and administrator. Chancellor of the University of Nebraska from 1946 until 1953, he served five other universities with distinction and was the first president of Resources of the Future.

The Reuben G. Gustavson Memorial Lectures were established in 1975 in recognition of Dr. Gustavson’s contributions to education and research. Sponsored by Resources for the Future, Inc., Washington, D.C., and four of the universities he served, the lectures will be given annually for fifteen years at the University of Arizona, the University of Chicago, the University of Colorado, and the University of Nebraska. The lectures at the University of Nebraska – Lincoln are jointly administered by the Department of Chemistry and the School of Biological Sciences.

Contributions to the lecture fund were made by the sponsoring institutions and Laurence S. Rockefeller and William S. Paley. The lectures deal with Science and Society, with emphasis on questions related to resources and the environment.

Past Recipients
  • 1987 - Frank H. Westheimer
  • 1984 - Edward A. Knapp
  • 1982-83 - Howard A. Schneiderman
  • 1979 - Philip Handler
  • 1978 - W. J. Hubbard
  • 1976 - H. Guyford Stever