Berkowitz named director of National Science Foundation chemistry division

Photo Credit:
Tue, 05/26/2020 - 12:14

David Berkowitz, Willa Cather Professor of Chemistry, has been named director of the Division of Chemistry for the National Science Foundation's Directorate for Mathematical and Physical Sciences.

He has been a faculty member in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln since 1991 and previously served as chair. An expert in the fields of synthetic organic chemistry and chemical biology, he is also director of Interdisciplinary Therapeutics Research in the Office of Research and Economic Development.

At the NSF, Berkowitz has served as a program officer, program lead, and interim director of the Division of Chemistry; a reviewer on panels; and a member of the Committee of Visitors for the CBET Division in the Engineering Directorate.

Berkowitz was awarded the Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship in 1997 and a Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Fellowship in 2008. He is a member of the Chemical Sciences and Technology Board at the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine (NASEM), and a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).